The NHL’s Stanley Cup Playoffs are considered the most grueling postseason in all professional sports, and that intensity gets ramped up for the Stanley Cup Final.

Stanley Cup odds

Stanley Cup odds are a form of NHL futures. These are long-running odds markets that release before the start of the regular season and take action over the course of the schedule, adjusting to results, betting handle, and injuries. 

The Stanley Cup odds are then trimmed down throughout the playoffs until only two teams remain.

Conn Smythe Trophy Odds

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded to the most valuable player during the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Sportsbooks begin offering Conn Smythe odds at the start of the playoffs, updating them as the rounds go on and teams are eliminated.

Stanley Cup Final schedule

The Stanley Cup Final schedule is set once a team from each conference advances to the final round. The playoffs begin on May 2 and will end no later than June 30. 

How to watch

In Canada, fans can catch Stanley Cup Finals games on Sportsnet and CBC, while fans in the United States can find Stanely Cup Finals action on NBC and USA channels.

Where to bet on the Stanley Cup

Hockey betting is on the rise in North America. The NHL’s popularity provides fun and unique ways to wager on hockey action all season long. Where you bet on hockey is just as important as what you bet, and Covers has reviewed the best betting sites available in your regions.

How to bet on hockey

Hockey is one of the most exciting sports to bet on due to the fast-paced action and swings in momentum. And the Stanley Cup playoffs dial up the drama, with plenty of unpredictable outcomes and thrilling underdog stories. Learn how to bet on hockey and make smarter NHL bets with Covers.


The Stanley Cup Final is one of the longest-running championship events in North American sports with a rich history of memorable competition and outstanding players


The Stanley Cup is named after Lord Frederick Stanley, the 16th Earl of Derby, who donated the trophy to honor the best amateur hockey team in Canada. 

The Stanley Cup was first awarded to the winner of the Canadian Challenge Cup (1893-1914) and later used as the top prize in a championship series between the winner of the National Hockey Association and the winner of the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (1915-1926).

It wasn’t until 1927 that the National Hockey League adopted the Stanley Cup as its championship trophy.

The first Stanley Cup

The first winner of the Stanley Cup was the Montreal Hockey Club, which won the Challenge Cup in 1893. The first NHA vs. PCHA winner was the Vancouver Millionaires in 1915. The first NHL champion to hoist Lord Stanley was the Ottawa Senators in 1927. 

NHL Stanley Cup Winners from 1927-2022

2021Tampa Bay Lightning
2020Tampa Bay Lightning
2019St. Louis Blues
2018Washington Capitals
2017Pittsburgh Penguins
2016Pittsburgh Penguins
2015Chicago Blackhawks
2014Los Angeles Kings
2013Chicago Blackhawks
2012Los Angeles Kings
2011Boston Bruins
2010Chicago Blackhawks
2009Pittsburgh Penguins
2008Detroit Red Wings
2007Anaheim Ducks
2006Carolina Hurricanes
2005Season canceled due to the 2004–05 NHL lockout
2004Tampa Bay Lightning
2003New Jersey Devils
2002Detroit Red Wings
2001Colorado Avalanche
2000New Jersey Devils
1999Dallas Stars
1998Detroit Red Wings
1997Detroit Red Wings
1996Colorado Avalanche
1995New Jersey Devils
1994New York Rangers
1993Montreal Canadiens
1992Pittsburgh Penguins
1991Pittsburgh Penguins
1990Edmonton Oilers
1989Calgary Flames
1988Edmonton Oilers
1987Edmonton Oilers
1986Montreal Canadiens
1985Edmonton Oilers
1984Edmonton Oilers
1983New York Islanders
1982New York Islanders
1981New York Islanders
1980New York Islanders
1979Montreal Canadiens
1978Montreal Canadiens
1977Montreal Canadiens
1976Montreal Canadiens
1975Philadelphia Flyers
1974Philadelphia Flyers
1973Montreal Canadiens
1972Boston Bruins
1971Montreal Canadiens
1970Boston Bruins
1969Montreal Canadiens
1968Montreal Canadiens
1967Toronto Maple Leafs
1966Montreal Canadiens
1965Montreal Canadiens
1964Toronto Maple Leafs
1963Toronto Maple Leafs
1962Toronto Maple Leafs
1961Chicago Black Hawks
1960Montreal Canadiens
1959Montreal Canadiens
1958Montreal Canadiens
1957Montreal Canadiens
1956Montreal Canadiens 
1955Detroit Red Wings
1954Detroit Red Wings
1953Montreal Canadiens
1952Detroit Red Wings 
1951Toronto Maple Leafs
1950Detroit Red Wings
1949Toronto Maple Leafs
1948Toronto Maple Leafs
1947Detroit Red Wings
1946Montreal Canadiens
1945Toronto Maple Leafs
1944Montreal Canadiens
1943Detroit Red Wings
1942Toronto Maple Leafs
1941Boston Bruins
1940New York Rangers
1939Boston Bruins
1938Chicago Black Hawks
1937Detroit Red Wings
1936Detroit Red Wings
1935Montreal Maroons
1934Chicago Black Hawks
1933New York Rangers
1932Toronto Maple Leafs
1931Montreal Canadiens
1930Montreal Canadiens
1929Boston Bruins
1928New York Rangers
1927Ottawa Senators

Stanley Cup FAQs

The Tampa Bay Lightning won the 2020 and the 2021 Stanley Cup Final.

Henri Richard won the most Stanley Cups as a player with 11 in his storied career with the Montreal Canadiens.

There are 10 current NHL franchises that have never won the Stanley Cup (Vancouver, Buffalo, San Jose, Winnipeg, Las Vegas, Florida, Nashville, Arizona, Minnesota, Columbus).

Yes, there have been 18 teams win the Stanley Cup in at least two consecutive years since 1918. Tampa Bay won back-to-back Stanley Cups in 2020 and 2021.

Free Shipping CBD Relief Authority
NHL Hockey Playoffs
Free Shipping CBD Relief Authority
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Be the first to get latest updates and exclusive content straight to your email inbox.
Stay Updated
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.
Sign-up for breaking news! Be the first to hear about Hockey News.
Click Me
Share via
Copy link